You are here

Cross Thematic Areas

Children do not live in boxes. A hungry or frightened child cannot learn and equal access to services requires sufficient investments in children by governments and families. Progress towards all children surviving, learning and no longer experiencing violence requires Save the Children to work across its five thematic areas of health and nutrition, child protection, child poverty, education and child rights governance.

Cross thematic areas are those that impact all or nearly all aspects of Save the Children programming. Because of their encompassing nature, they are presented here separately with a great deal of overlap. For example, child participation can be present during child protection in emergencies or child rights monitoring. By presenting these thematic areas individually, examples specific to each can be clearly presented and explored for a greater perspective of different ways in which Save the Children employs each.

Photo: Hannah Maule-Ffinch/Save the Children

Documents (1835)

View mode:


Filter your search


Publication year





Content Type

Media format